The Courting (Song)
Nov. 06, 2002 ] 12:00 AM
I went to the edge of the world, I went.
Where in the warm air hovers the winged sky
Red berries hang heavy like beads of blood
Held fast by ravens like a touch of death.

All these I will give you, if you will have me
Suspended in a dream, a ship of dreams - a sailing -
Weighted with red rubies like red berries,
And gleaming feathers of darkest wings.

Look here, here is a ripe fruit, look.
Spotless, precious, destined for your tongue.
The colour is virgin red, the core scarlet dark
Scented like smoky late-autumnal love

Your fluttery lips, will close on it, like a startled bird.
A lavish caress of such delectable fruit.
Claimed at last, it will stain your mouth,
The juice so red, as dark as clotted blood.

I gift you these ebon feathers like shadowy leaves
Decked out in ravenous heat; it will make
A ship of dreams, to sail in dreams - to fly -
All the more lighter for your taste in fruit.

Come to the edge of the world.
Come with me, come.
Follow me.
I will give you everything.



Rhythm somewhat awkward. May need to change some words, e.g. "love" to "lust".
wax ] wane
Site 

Meter