Bad movie experience
Dec. 24, 2001 ] 10:35 PM
I watched the Lord of the Rings yesterday. And no, there are no spoilers in this entry. None. *straight poker face* Honest.

Okay Dishonest. There are vague spoilers like who spoke to whom or... one important thing with no names mentioned.

Nah, I just want to rant and rave about inconsiderate people who do not turn off their mobile phones but lots of people have been there and done that. Why else would the government spend tons of money trying to incalculate basic courtesy into people who resent being courteous to other people?

Okay. That was nasty.

I know I know, but it is hard to be generous and unbiased when you spend an entire three hours next to a free surround sound Mandarin translation of LOTR.

Well then, some of you might ask, why did you put up with it?

First and foremost, I did not want to stir up a ruckus, because that would have disrupted the film. As it turned out, my sister who was seated next to me couldn't hear them, so I was probably the only over-sensitive suffering dolt.

Secondly, they were middle-aged. And I am obviously way younger than them and I didn't know how to sound polite without offending them. But I was so tempted to let loose a really blistering sarcastic remark... but...

I'm a coward. Sigh.

Nevermind.

Still, after the whole thing, I found the funny side to the whole thing.

I mean they started the film making remarks like, "Oh you mean the film is set in the olden days? Why is the story set in the olden days?"

Erhmmmmmmmmm...

I think like many people who caught onto the Harry Potter craze despite thumbing their noses at Potter before it became fashionable to be a Potter fan, the fact that LOTR was the in thing to watch was the deciding factor for them to watch it.

Sigh. And even with Chinese subtitles, the wife insisted on translating the whole movie for her husband. She complained at one stage that the subtitles did not have the names of the characters. To which her husband insisted that they did translate the names,(which was true, because I read the subtitles too).

Sigh. I, who was straining to catch certain sentences uttered by the actors onscreen got a earful of, "Wah, that man is so tiny. Why is the other man so big?" Oh that was when Gandulf and Baggins first met each other.

Other irritating comments popped up at the most importune moments like scenes with Elvish being spoken and various other important conversations.

Sigh. And I can see that the guy onscreen is dead. You do not have to repeat it several times. We can see it for ourselves.

Oh and nice work with the mobile phone. And the Christmas dinner with your friends.

Oh and my favourite bit, I know the exact time of the evening for two scenes.

And to add salt to my wounds, someone seated behind us had really smelly sneakers.

Okay I am just being a bitch here. But I did not have a good time at the movies. I'm sure you got the gist of that.:P

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter