Highlights from the 13th-15th
Feb. 15, 2002 ] 9:07 PM
These are the piquant highlights from my convalescence period. The slow torment of a person driven to madness by ennui.

The first day was spent being all giddy and tired and sleeping. I could hardly lift my arms and legs and I kept smelling sewer waste. Yuck. No one else could even detect a whiff of that stench within ten metres of me, so it was me having hallucinations due to my fever. The highlight of the day was sleeping and feeling rather sorry for myself.

The second day I managed to be well enough to mobilise my arms and legs and propel myself in the vague direction of the family�s most powerful computer� only to be repelled by a even more powerful entity, in the figure of the Lone Ranger with his faithful sniper rifle. My dad refused to budge from his sniping position until the afternoon. I spent the rest of the afternoon trying to gain more stats and skill points to defeat Duriel in Act II of Nightmare difficulty in Diablo II between bouts of coughing and examining my snot and phlegm. The clods were turning an interesting shade of yellow and green to a mildly viscous and sticky white opaque substance in my Kleenex.

That night my mom barred me from leaving my bed after midnight and so I drove myself a little nuts with my medley of music; Buddhist chants, Irish Jigs and Placebo. I was trying to get to sleep.

Well, on the third day I was ready to climb up walls due to boredom. My dad had to run errands for much of the day so I managed to kill Duriel. Woohoo!!! My Necromancer was doing so fine. My mercenary didn�t fare too well. I think my game was lengthened by the fact that I had to earn enough money to recoup my losses for hiring her. My fire golem died� lots.

Still I was ready to climb walls in the evening. All the books I had stocked up to read over the long Chinese New Year period (12th-13th) where the stores and the libraries are not opened, had been devoured over the weekend before the holiday. Me and my greedy mind.

And even the image of the twilight as a blue glass bottle didn�t get sustained enough for me to create a poem. At least that could have elevated some of my poor state. But I hurt too much and well I was erhm... bored.

Well, right now, my parents have gone out to visit old friends. It�s a poker party for the guys and a gossip session for the women. The brat has seized control of Diablo II and is now attempting to raise her sorceress to a level high enough to beat Duriel. Rats. I�m typing this on the second computer. I suppose I could play TA or Dungeon Keeper on it. Bleah.

In the meantime I�m waiting for the tea kettle to boil. I�m trying to create a new blend of tea. Evidently, it is best if you blend the loose tea and ingredients together and leave it alone for a time to merge into something exquisite, or something barely drinkable, depending on your expertise. I�m just tossing orange peel, tangerine peel, orange tea and rose buds together and then kill any delicate flavours with boiling water. If it turns out unpalatable, I will just smother the darn thing in syrup and leave it in the fridge. Someone will drink it. Someone always will. Probably my dad.

Oh and in between these highlights, I managed to send my notebook and PDA for repairs, irritate the nice service centre people via telephone, have meals, took showers and tried to organize a coherent memory of the past couple of days. Right. Hardly possible when my body seems to be protesting with every breath I take. Bleah.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter