Self-Help Books (II)
Feb. 27, 2002 ] 12:51 AM
I went shopping today for the start of the new semester and bought socks. Cream, white and black socks and one red pair that I picked out of impulse. Sounds familiar? Impulse shopping is the bane of my life.

(Other than pompous pricks that go round postulating on subjects that they dislike on sheer envy. Never mind.)

Anyway, perhaps the title should be somewhat different, because I didn't put red socks in my shopping list. If that sounds strange, it is. I have been reading books on fashion therapy (among other stuff) as part of my diabolical ploy to rid myself of my innate restlessness and hopefully give some direction in my life.

Being the anal-retentive person that I am, I was trying to follow the bloody instructions to the letter... down to the colour of my socks. I figured if I kept everything to the minimalist style and mix it with a few of my eclectic items, I would be safely in the black.

Ah... bugger it. I did follow the suggestions and also ended up buying my usual haphazard taste in fashion. Which means I would probably spend more money than usual.

Hah, self-help indeed.

I suppose that if I were really anal-retentive I would have colour-coded everything in my closet. I did. Additionally, red is one of the major colour groups in my closet. Black isn't. And thanks to the bloody books, I have gained in clothes that I won't wear. Oh, okay, maybe not wear a lot. No sense in wasting the money.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter