Damned complex friendships
Apr. 07, 2002 ] 2:24 PM
How do you tell Strawberry that the group of people she hangs out with only do that because she lends them her tutorial assignments? That and the fact that they bitch about her in front of other people instead of the relative privacy of their own social circle, or in my case, in the relative anonymity on the web. After all, despite everything I dislike about her, and the fact that she is not classified under "bosom buddy", she is still a friend.

And friends should look out for each other. The whole loyalty bit. But I cannot help feeling that she might not appreciate it. She complained that I was patronising. So if I stuck my nose into her business, she would see it as patronising. After all, no one likes to be told that they are wrong. And this might strain whatever relations we have left.

After all, I am sure she is smart enough to figure things out. And it is her life. Besides, she has alluded occasionally that she knows that the people she hangs out with do see her as a convenient cash cow or the carbon copy of their assignments. Even if I see it truer and faster than she does. I don�t know.

It is kind of hard especially since her boyfriend just dumped her and most of our group didn�t meet the cut in academic standards to return to university this year. After all I am not the sort that likes to party or be in close proximity to people for a long period of time. Closed, solitary person, like an oyster with a hoard of pearls. And (which I didn�t realise until Hamlet and Sweet Teeth pointed it out), I am stubborn and opinionated enough that most people do not try to dissuade me from my path unless I wish them to. I do hope they try sometimes. It is quite exhilarating. Something to do with power relations I think.

But the fact is, she and I are so different. I do feel guilty about not being able to endure much more of her company, because she is a good sort. Just spoilt. And even more so than me. And far less tolerant than I am when things don�t go her way. (Which considering my tantrums, is far worse and a fate I will not wish on anyone. Ask the BF. Or my mom.)

Oh wait, I was talking about Strawberry. Nah, never mind. Although I feel guilty for not sticking my nose into the current situation. She was quite upset the last time when I told her I knew our mutual acquaintance Flyboy was slimy, and the worse kind of user since the day we met him last year. She didn�t know that. She thought that he was a good steady friend until it dawned on her recently that he wasn't.

Sigh. I have not solved the dilemna yet.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter