Ranting and raving.
May. 15, 2002 ] 10:05 AM
Okay, this is an anti-American rant. Just thought to warn anyone who feels sensitive about this.

And to ease my conscience and make me feel better, I will start will this: not every American I met is nasty, brutish or annoyingly patronising. Some put me to shame with their perfect manners and upbringing. And I admire the blank gaze they learn to develop whenever my lecturers or tutors make a crack about "dumb Americans" or something along those lines.

So does this mean that this rant should not be confined to Americans? No. It is. There's something about belonging to the hegemonic super-power that makes some of its citizens loud mouthed bigots who are insensitive to everyone else's feelings. Spot on. Honest.

Take the American guy from Harvard who was expostulating on the "incredible backwardness" of Asian countries, notably, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand, because of the tough stance on drugs. I don't know about Malaysia, I'm afraid, but in Singapore, I think its a good idea. Yes, I know that Singapore is restrictive etc... but in this case it makes perfect sense. Why? Because our population is so tiny, drug addiction in any proportion is pretty devastating to our economy. Not to mention we have limited resources too. Note: I didn't get this from any government propaganda if that's what you are thinking. I figured it out on my own. And in Thailand, it is a huge problem.

Or maybe the American girl who was doing work and we were chatting in the computer lab about some article we were reading on the web. She never says a thing to us but runs off to complain to the Head. And then she brings into the lab an entire discussion group to do a project when there are perfectly good rooms for that purpose. And ignores us when we ask her politely to keep it down. Her excuse was that she would be done in ten minutes, but the session goes on for another hour and a half. And when asked during that hour and a half to tone it down again, she goes,"Yes I said I will be done soon, don't you understand English?"

Blah.

Or my favourite, some of the Americans love talking to Asians like this, "Really? I. Think. That. Would. Taste. Really. Great. Maybe. You. Could. Try. It. Some. Time." with the exaggerated enuciation and the great wagging of the head. Riiiiiighhht. They seem to have no qualms about speaking normally to the Swedes, the French and Spanish English-learning students.

And this didn't happen to me personally, but I read it in an interview with an English teacher from Singapore, teaching in Japan. It also happened to someone in Eye-Candy's group, which I think would account for their animosity as well. "Oh you are from Singapore? No wonder your English sucks."

And for the last time, Singapore isn't a "communist state". Nor is Malaysia an "Islamic religious crazy state". And no, Singapore and Malaysia aren't the same country.

And some Singaporeans are stupid enough to try and perpetuate the image of Singapore as a totalitarian state by agreeing with every wicked stereotype? Some criticisms are true to an extent, some are true and some are blatantly false. Think about it. And finally, tell me why do you plan to return to Singapore to work and raise kids?

I may disagree with some things but I am still pretty patriotic.

Fine. That concludes my rant. Glad to have gotten it off my chest. I think I will stop now. I am feeling like I am doing something really evil and biased right now.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter