The tables are turned, and I am a tail-less dog
Oct. 27, 2002 ] 12:25 PM
It is such a novelty to have Paladin annoyed at me for once. But it brings with it a whole new set of problems, because it is usually me who stomps her pretty feet and sulks, and not the other person I am annoyed with at the moment. My natural tendency is to roll over and grovel at his feet, simply because that's the reaction I want when I am mad at someone.

And the silly thing is, I realised that he is annoyed because he is jealous. He thinks I have supplanted his place as the new boon companion to good o' Mage. Hah, you should have seen the chagrin on his face the other night when I took his usual spot in Mage's car (which is the front seat) instead of trooping down like a happy camper and sit with the other two guys who were getting a lift home from the cafe. I absolutely refused to be stuck in the back seat with two men whom I am only acquainted with, simply because of the inevitable physical proximity of the whole situation.

That was why he was annoyed with me. Other little clues that gave the game away include, "Oh so now you discuss me with my best friend", or just plain sulking when I chatter more with Mage than him. It isn't my fault. Mage listens to me simply because unlike Paladin he is too polite to shut me up with sarcasm, and besides we talk about warcraft, his girlfriend, astrology, Paladin and cooking, which is a change from Paladin's constant flow of sly, acerbic and cryptic remarks. It is also refreshing because Mage is nice and polite and doesn't feel the need to punctuate any conversation with sarcasm. Although, I must admit, that he is a little boring at times.

But as I mentioned before, I'm new at this whole "Paladin is annoyed with me" thing, simply because I have always been the grumpy, spoilt person moping around in sullen fits. I think I made a tactical error yesterday and compounded my original mistake even further. I burst into tears when we started debating on the merits, or rather the demerits of Singaporean women against other Asian women. It always seem so personal to me simply because I am the only female from Singapore he knows.

The worse mistake was sticking around him simply because I was trying to cajole him out his bad mood, and unwittingly intensifying it further. Let me explain, I realised that he needed time alone yesterday evening only at 11 this morning when I was taking a long, hot shower (which is conducive to thinking).

He had made a remark about wanting some "recreation time" to himself the evening before. Hmmm. That sounded quite innocuous no? I thought it was, until I put two and four (from his usual behaviour) together this morning. You figure what he meant. If you don't get it, you are still probably too young and I am not explaining. So yes, that could explain the longevity of his foul mood.

Oh, and right now, I ate like half a punnet of strawberries and now feel very, very sick.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter