Heh, that was a good deal
Nov. 17, 2003 ] 7:59 PM
From George R. R. Martin's site.

The Bantam 1996 edition was the true first, as I see things. It had a silver foil cover with an embossed throne but no other illustration. That one has become quite valuable, and seems to sell for $200 to $600 (depending on condition), the last time I checked.

The HarperCollins/ Voyager 1996 edition was the British first. Its official publication date was earlier than that of the Bantam edition, but Bantam went to print several months early to hand out copies at the ABA, so I consider theirs the true first. However, the British edition had a much smaller print run. As a consequence, it is much rarer, and even more valuable. I've seen it selling for anywhere from $800 to $1500 on the internet.

I just had to gloat. I bought a mint Bantam hardback for a mere 10 dollars, back when the A Song of Ice and Fire readership was still in its infancy.

I even had my grubby hands on the HarperCollins hardback. I believe it should be still in the TP branch of The National Library. It was the book that introduced me to the Seven Kingdoms. Unless, of course someone stole or misplaced that copy already.

Simple pleasures. I feel slightly better now, although it is rather sordid to gloat over something so mercenary.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter