Favourite Shades of Me
Feb. 03, 2003 ] 3:13 PM

Claret is the elegant Queen of Reds. It is one of the main colour groups in my closet, the colour of my favourite pair (out of eight) mary-janes, the colour that oozes out of my steak when I cut into it. Yummy.

Black is the colour of the Night where I have my darkest moods, my best ideas and my most startling thoughts. It is the colour of the ink in my fountain pen as it scratches out on paper, my poetry. It was my sweetheart's favourite colour. It was the colour of my hair. I love men dressed in black.

Gunmetal blue is the fine shade of mutability that straddles between blue and gray. It is the colour of my depression, the tint of my favourite weather where I will attempt to snuggle between the coverlets and read a book (usually a Heyer) or sing snatches of the medieval ballads I so love.

Silver is the my favourite metal. The colour of every watch I own, all 5 of them, along with the 9 clocks, because I have a problem with time. Silver is the moon that pulls in the lunacy that is in the ebb and flow of my blood.

Pink is the sweetest colour. It is the colour of my room in Singapore. The colour that a lot of people associate with me when I am a good little girl. Sometimes I get sick of it.

Chrome Yellow is the colour of my hyperactivity. It is the sunlight that illuminates my room and that I demand must have. The colour of lemons and mangoes. It is the soft undertone of my fair Chinese skin.

White is another staple in my closet. It is the colour of clean, fluffy, things. I am a neat freak. The colour of my favourite foods: milk, soy milk and tofu.

Cream is the colour of yummy Gelare vanilla bean ice-cream (although that has brown flecks in it.) It is the colour of Almond Bubble Tea and the pages of the thousand odd books on my shelves which range from romances, science fiction, fantasy, life sciences, novels, graphic novels, comics etc.

Violet is the colour of blueberries. The colour of my favourite Anna Sui perfume that I splash myself with. It is the colour of the sun rays that I carefully avoid with my hats and umbrellas.

Lavender is my favourite scent. The colour of my vintage, sheer, off shoulder top that belonged to my mother.

(created: 27.03.02, updated 03.02.03)

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter