The Girl's Song
Sept. 23, 2002 ] 8:08 PM
Spring, and everything else loom
Under the auspices of delight
While I, in a loveless room
Gain an augury of reckless pride.

Picture my cheek pressed against dust
My body, a distil of agony
Where bones grind futilely in lust
And my mind anchors itself in perjury.

Under your sky, upon your cheek,
Rests hers, nestled in rosy love.
My place, usurped by some, meek,
Unassuming child, in your rebirth.



Tentative title:
The Old Woman's Song
Song of Envy


Second draft. Second stanza initially reads like this:

Picture my cheek upon dust
My eyes closed in an agony
Where bones grind futilely in lust
And my mind anchors itself in perjury.

or

Picture my cheek against dust
My body a distil of agony
Buried bones grinding futilely in lust
My mind injures itself in perjury.
wax ] wane
Site 

Meter