Vertigo
Oct. 25, 2001 ] 9:26 AM
The room is swimming around me right now. I think I am too lightheaded to make any kind of coherent entry. In any case, I love this feeling of vertigo. You experience it when you are ill, have low blood pressure, or you fast. I have always understood why those ascetics fast to get closer to God. The feeling is one of lightness, of being. I suppose if I took some sort of mind altering drug I would still experience this hallucinatory awareness, for lack of a better word. However, fasting as I am wont to do, being rather fussy in what I eat sometimes, is so much more pure, more cleansing, more spiritual. When I am ill, well, at least it is a more natural state than foreign substances in my blood stream. I hate foreign substances in my blood stream. This distaste runs to medicine as well. I avoid taking pills even if I start seeing a halo round things when I get my migraines. I love vertigo. You look around and everything is surreal, outlined in stark and sometimes painful clarity (especially my bright pink post-its:)) and your eyes by turns focus and unfocus, creating a kind of dreamscape which is real but beyond the ordinary. I love experiencing this vertiginous sight.
wax ] wane
Site 

Meter