Purple lace
Dec. 02, 2001 ] 12:29 PM
I was looking at some photos that I had developed recently and I cringed. What was awful is that the photographs did not capture what I had hope would encapsulate what I saw when I took it. The colours were not as bright or as muted as I remembered looking at it through the camera lens and through my own eyes.

What I am most disappointed with, are the pictures of the purple flowering trees that are so common in Australia and completely unheard of in Singapore. The photos make the trees seem so small and insignificant and so dull. Nothing of the essence of what I saw was captured at all. Maybe it was this amateur's poor photographic skills or maybe it was the poor use of an already poor camera.

I miss those trees. I asked a taxi driver what they were and all I could decipher through his heavy Welsh accent was "Jackomanders" or something similiar to that. I have to find out the proper name later.

The trees are covered with purple flowers with little or no hint of green. Seen in the light breeze from a distance, the trees look like delicate lace or a light purple filigree over the bare brown framework of the branches. The trees remind me of the seductive sway of the crinoline lace dresses of a Southern Belle from Gone With The Wind and other such old South movies. Graceful, lithe and fragile.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter