Building strong bones
Mar. 11, 2002 ] 11:27 AM
After reading about how women have up to the age of 25 to make their bone mass as dense as possible, I went a little ballistic and rushed off to the pharmacy to get some calcium supplements. After all I am turning 22, and these age limits are not too reliable. I estimate that I will only have another 2 years to build up my bone density. I do not want to shrink in my old age, or have bones like an 80 year old when I am 30. And that could be exacerbated by the fact that I have recently lost a lot of weight because of my medication and my mom�s good cooking.

If good cooking sounds paradoxical to losing weight, it is not. When I talk about bad food, I mean the food I have in Uni. Every dish is swimming in oil, down to the roasted vegetables. Somehow those are served in oil too. And smothered with gravy (optional) or mayonnaise or cream.

I told my mom about the whole calcium thing and she said I was nuts. I drink enough milk to supply myself with calcium. About a litre a day on some days. However, with me watching my weight, I have cut out milk and drink soya-bean milk instead. The bad thing is that the soy substitute the college provides tastes odd. I am not used to it. I can chug down a couple of glasses, but I would prefer not too. I guess it is grouped into the same range as vegemite. So, that is where the calcium supplements come in.

I spent about 20 minutes reading labels and deciding which type of calcium supplements I should get. In the end I went with the more expensive supplements because it had the most comprehensive description and the exact quantity of calcium in RDI percentages. Yes. I know. It is so typical of me. However, this is a lesson for the vitamin suppliers. Always have lots of information. People tend to go for the more educated sounding descriptions because it sounds more reliable.

It is just like the Quaker Oats Company and their hardier and heavier cartons. It reassures consumers of their reliability and their honesty. I read that interesting fact somewhere. I forgot where though.

However, on the way back from the city, I realised that it is only because I am in a relatively affluent family that I can indulge and be indulged in such luxuries like vitamin supplements. And then I felt guilty. If I was a child in a family struggling to make ends meet, I wouldn�t be spending money so recklessly on something non-important like calcium supplements. I would just be happy with milk. And powdered milk at that. I don�t know. And then I felt stupid, making such un-informed generalizations about that.

My mind then throws up the possibility that feeling guilty is also a selfish activity. And an arrogant activity as well. I find that most disconcerting. Thinking, I guess is another luxury. So are self-indulgent whiny diaries. I hate this. It is an inexhaustible cycle. I suppose the only way out is to strive to optimise the utilities of my lucky situation and grow a strong backbone and shoulders. That would be one way to alleviate my guilt.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter