Guilty of trivialising the Holucaust
Mar. 13, 2002 ] 8:25 PM
I just finished watching a documentary on Hitler's Death Camps. Some of the stories were quite terrifying. Desperation to preserve one's own life by sending another to their death. Letting some creep sodomise you so you could have bread. Killing your own child because you could not feed the infant because your breasts were bound. Some of those survivors were much younger than me at the time they had to survive.

However, I just can't help but feel numb. Maybe TV isn't the best way to help convey the atrocities of war. You get immune to it after a while. There are several degrees of separation from the events and you. The time factor, the TV screen, the camera. It just doesn't get to you that much.

Especially if you are watching the TV after a exhausting day at work or class. Your mind just registers the words and the images that flicker across your screen, but you do not register it the way the producers wish you to do so. I don't know. And the fact that I have seen those footage tens of times over in history classes, tv dramas, tv documentaries, books, movies engenders the whole careless attitude more.

I suppose I should feel guilty for not caring right now, or not falling into the whole loop of showing horror at the genocide, but all I can feel now is fatigue after a busy day in Uni.

Like one of the old ladies, who lived in the area around one of the death camps and knew what was going on with the Jews, in the documentary said, "It's best if you try not to think about it, or you will never get on with your lives, or sleep again."

I think I should go get some sleep now. I have another busy day tomorrow.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter