Of drop dead gorgeous elves and other silly fluffy romantic stuff
May. 10, 2002 ] 9:03 PM
I'm zonked out.

I went round to every bookstore and secondhand bookstore around hunting down Judith McNaught romances. And I managed to get a really old Corgi copy of Something Wonderful. It is the first edition with the really romantic and watercolour painting of a refined and decently clad Regency belle (in mint condition!), and not the bold coloured sex bomb with her boobs nearly falling out of her neckline you have in recent reprintings.

Gah. Yuck. Now I have the strange urge to hunt down the others in the set with the dainty covers. Sigh. I don't really like the American covers cos they look kitschy. Except for the latest reprints with photographs of glorious landscapes on the covers.

Erhm.

Oh and I bought a copy of Gone With the Wind. I read it a couple of years back and thought I was like Scarlett. You know, shallow, bitchy and vain. And yearning to be like her in strength and resourcefulness. But I didn't think I would love it enough to re-read the whole 1000 page monstrosity. Then I finally caught the Vivian Leigh and Clark Gable movie and just totally lost it. I just had to get the novel, not just grab it from the library. Oooo. Oooo. Oooo. So I went hunting for it.

Sigh.

Oh and I finished A Caress of Twilight by Laurell K. Hamilton. It was much better than the last book with less kinky sex. I'm not a great fan of kinky sex. And the story was more interesting, although I sort of guessed the ending for the book round about page 100, and some of the probable twists that is highly likely to occur in the last of the trilogy. She isn't a good suspense and action writer. But I like the bits about the elves, the demi-fey, the Faerie and the Seelie and Unseelie Courts.

She has tantalising, lush, descriptions, about the beautiful elves, and I'm a sucker for beautiful elves. And of course, Hamilton is good with her gorgeous, dripping with sex appeal, beautiful tri-coloured eyed males. And I'm lost. The whole concept of one woman adored by a whole bevy of sex-gods with pointy ears... you get the point.

However, I think the reason for less sex was the new editor and the tons of more vocal fans with rather puritan attitudes. Perhaps that's why the book was way shorter than the first in the series by about 100 pages. They had to edit out lots of sex. Bah. If you have a problem with lots of gratitious sex, examples like the Japanese tentacle sex (I'm not even sure that is the correct term although Hamlet mentioned something about ecchi) or menage a trois and other weird assorted stuff, just skip the darn pages. Bleah. It's not as if it is really important or something. Of course I do occasionally read those passages, not always but I do. Erhm, enough about that.

Sigh. One woman worshipped by lots of men. Small wonder why Hamilton is sometimes classified under "romance" and is considered an oddity in the fantasy genre. Oh and she gets reviewed by the Romantic Times too.

Sigh. Beautiful eyed men with that allure of danger and ripe with masculinity. Oh did I mention they were glamourous elven lords? Sigh.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter