A sobering thought
May. 08, 2002 ] 12:48 PM
I am about to do a Bridget Jones. A new beginning. The whole weight, units of alcohol and cigarette thing. Just with different things.

The reason for this? I checked my bank statement yesterday. If I continue spending the way I have, I will be in really hot soup with my parents. Not to mention really miserable when June rolls by and it�s the exams and I need milk and tea and the occasional book.

Why can�t they have secondhand bookstores the way they have in Singapore? Sigh. The sort where you can rent brand new books, and they order the books you want in. At least I could return all those new books I bought, which if I had gotten them back home, would be on the "can do" but not "keep" list. So if I was really broke, (as I am now), I could return those books and get some money back.

And clear the space on my shelves! My number of books on the one shelf in the dorm room rival one of the shelves in my room back home. Which is saying a lot. And each paperback costs at least 18 dollars or more, and I have tons of hardbacks as well� you get the idea.

I should not ramble so about money, it's tasteless. However, I think I am entitled to, being a student and all. Blah. Spoilt brat, never had to work a day in her life. Well this spoilt brat is sober right now. Very sober.

I could join the library. However, I am not too sure about yonder procedures. Although, if I do manage to join a library here, I am going to kick myself for not thinking about it earlier. Or letting Paladin get the satisfaction of knowing it. He suggested it eons ago.

Bah.

I wonder how long this sobriety might last. Maybe until the next time I wander into a bookstore.

Oh, and don�t forget your promise to treat Jingle and BF to a meal. Ahhhhhh. Now I remember.

Drat. Oh wait, I had set money aside already. Very efficient sometimes, and sometimes, just plain clueless.

And just to make things clear, while BF and I joke about my shoe fetish, the truth is, most of my money goes to food; nice restaurant meals, good coffee, and bubble tea; computer related activities and books. I'm not that fanatic about shoes.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter