Matched Dolls and matching glances
Jun. 14, 2002 ] 6:00 PM
I guess that is the reason why I never like the Matched Dolls anyway. I know I should start at the beginning rather than at the end, but there it is. I am seriously unenthusiastic about meeting them again.

In any case, I never really liked them. The Matched Dolls are a couple. They are a part of the group I mentioned in this entry. There was always something false or forced about them when they talked to me. I never could quite figure out whether it was the fact that I was quite stiff and quiet when having meals with them as they are acquaintances and their differing opinions and philosophies in life, or whether they felt uneasy with me. Apparently I make a lot of people uneasy because I am so silent with near strangers. Or perhaps I was little Miss Over-Sensitive. Heck I thought it was probably a mixture of all three. Small wonder why I have taken to eating meals earlier and earlier to avoid meeting them. However due to the cold and the impending exams, everyone eats earlier. Bleah.

Whatever. The clincher that put the seal to all those other times when they were curt to the point of rudeness, or the forced little smiles the female half of the Matched Dolls puts upon her face was today's incident.

It started off as polite chitchat and inevitably turned to exams. So she says, "How is your exam revision going?" And I go, "Well I have not started yet." This is true because most of my units require written essays rather than a formal examination. I have 11 days to my one and only paper. And I have been busy working on my assignments.

There was the look the Matched Dolls exchanged. Was that a sneer I saw on his face echoed by the not quite disguised derisive look on hers? You could see the thought flickering all over their face in that split second. A documentary I once watched highlighted that if you are observant enough you can catch that split second where liars have to master their true intentions before they lie. In that split second I caught their mutual conclusion their little brains could think up, "Another spoilt brat whose parents sent to Australia to 'buy' a degree" or "What a waste of money".

I could only just produce a weak smile and an excuse that they think I have no doubt just fobbed onto them, "Oh, I had assignments due."

Blah. I have a bitter taste in my mouth I need to rinse out.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter