My Blood Will Be Well Spent
Aug. 01, 2002 ] 1:12 AM
I had forgotten how good Anne of The Thousand Days was. All those stirring speeches, glorious 16th century music and lush, decadent, costumes. Although Genevieve Bujold was not as pertly pretty as Anne Boelyn as I remembered. I guess a gap of a decade, (the last time I saw it was when I was twelve), does mask little flaws in the film. Richard Burton was old. And ugly. And wasn't Anne Boelyn a dark haired brunette instead of a mousy haired spit-fire?

And with all my recent interest in the art of blackwork, I was pouncing on the detailed embroidery on the costumes. "Hah! That isn't blackwork! That's only a printed fake!"

To be fair, I think for close-ups, the main actors' costumes were decorated with genuine blackwork, although that voice could be heard to resonate with "Machine work!". Bleah. Too much embroidery does that to you.

Speaking of embroidery, my cross-stich is getting better by the day. I suppose practice does make perfection... to a certain extent of course.

However, I am tired, and need a night of good repose. So with your good graces, gentle readers, I shall retire and speak more of it on the morrow.

Teehee. I love that movie.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter