Saturday 8 postscript
Aug. 10, 2002 ] 11:14 PM
Saturday-8: "At the Movies"
  1. My life is a stage...and my family is full of drama. Name the movie that best describes your life and your family.

    I can't think of one, off the top of my head. Some inane happy family drama I think.

  2. My life scares me sometimes too! Name the movie that best describes the horror that you face day in and day out. [this can be AHH scary or SCARY MOVIE funny scary...have fun]

    I Not Stupid. Strange. It is scary because it made me depressed at being unable to change the system. For non-Singaporeans out there, it is a movie that takes the mickey out of the Singapore education system (among other things) while wrestling with the issues raised in a very touching and realistic way.

  3. What movie have you seen over and over and over and over? Why?

    Saving Private Ryan.
    Nostalgia. It was shown in the year of my greatest (teenage) mental upheavals.

    I saw it five times in the cinema, twice on VCD, once on DVD, and four times on Cable.

    There was something about the blood and gore that appealed to me. Perhaps it was the sheer perversity at being one of the few girls who embraced the violence whole heartedly instead of being coy and squeamish. Maybe it was because I beat the guys at their own game. I was merrily eating popcorn at my first sitting while the guys around me were turning green.

    It was the first and only war movie that I saw and loved.

    I cut class with Beatnik to watch it. (I think it was the fourth time I saw it in the cinema).

    Lots of firsts. I could go on.

  4. What movie reminds you of your childhood. How so?

    Election.

    I was so uncannily similar to Reese Witherspoon's character that I cried at the end of the movie because unlike her I felt that I didn't achieve any material success in my life, yet was so hollow and empty like her.

  5. What movie do you recollect as being amongst your first to see?

    Easy peasy. The Three Amigos Mom brought me to see that. It was either that or An American Tail. Or perhaps the Care Bear Movie. Hee. I think I may have spoke too soon.

  6. What movie scared the holy smoosh out of you? Does it still scare you?

    Some Hong Kong Vampire Movie. The scene where the vampire was trapped in the lift with a whole bunch of people was terrifying. Especially when the Christian lifted his cross to repel the vampire and was still killed.
    I never saw the film again, but I do recall the funnier moments in the film with the general, the corpse of his favourite concubine and the grave robber. That would take too long to explain. I do not think I would be afraid if I watched it again.

  7. What are your 3 favorite movies?

    Other than the forementioned war movie? O Brother Where Art Thou which was recounted in this entry; Anne of The Thousand Days and Gladiator. Gladiator was nice and stirring and bloody.

  8. What movie could you see yourself as the star/main character? Why?

    Erhm I cannot think of any except Winona's Ryder's character in Girl, Interrupted. Although recent events have placed me in the role of Julia Robert's role in My Best Friend's Wedding. Maybe the role of Caroline Burnham in American Beauty. I am terrified I will become her.
wax ] wane
Site 

Meter