A humdrum entry
Aug. 15, 2002 ] 1:16 AM
Be warned.

This is going to be a dull record of what I did today.

Today I had class and then went on down to one of the suburbs to return DVDs. Then I walked home from the suburb, pausing only to sniff at the same lavender bush I lost a battle with. Hey, one must be a gracious loser.

After that I had dinner. Then I got invited by this new girl and a guy, to the old familiar haunt of the cafe down the road. We chatted for a bit, and I had my passive nicotine fix... I must have missed Hamlet, Strawberry and The Lost One's cigarettes more than I realised.

The girl I will henceforth call Penthesilea and the guy Jester. To explain the sobriquets, Penthesilea was the Amazon queen who fought at Troy and died by Achilles' hand. My Penthesilea is serving in the army. She is admirable. Yes, admirable is the word. Jester, just jests.

Then I had a rousing game of Contract Bridge. It was mind boggling. The rules were hugely different from the sort of Bridge I learnt in JC and sitting in the clubhouse with the old gang. I could not wrap my mind round the naunces of "bidding" and the "rubber" and the "dummy". To date, this means I have learnt three different variations of Bridge, although I was informed by my Bridge partner that "this is competitive Bridge".

Eeks.

After that I lingered in Paladin's room watching him lose in a battle of wits with Fatboy.

Speaking of that entity; Fatboy kept hitting me on the head with his book. He was aggravating the migraine I already had. I wish I had told him off, but I knew that he would start complaining about how I was not treating him as a friend. And because I didn't say anything to that effect, he kept knocking me on the head, and worse, think it was rather fast of me.

Damned if I do, damned if I don't.

BF would just extort me to sock Fatboy one, but to tell the truth, I wouldn't like to touch any bit of his blubber, even if it was to retaliate in kind.

Blah.

And yes, the caretaker of our grounds hates the guts of our College Head. Strawberry has the most interesting tale that I am saving up for a most interesting entry, just like the Tale of The Balding Unicorn (which is basically a one-liner joke), and various other meaningless little tidbits you gather from here and there.

I wonder if readers are actually interested in these things.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter