Snippets
Jan. 07, 2003 ] 8:16 AM
Well at least I know why my linguistic ability has degenerated. Horrors, I have even incorporated the Brat's slang into my already poorly enunciated English. Hah. I can lay the blame at Battlenet and Warcraft's door. While English is the most common medium used to cement alliances (unless you are a first-rate player going solo), it is like a mutated version at its best. Sort of like a truncated and simplified form of English. I was aware of its inadequacies yesterday. In response to the question, "Rush?", I went, "That is not feasible." And I received a reprimand, "Eh... green [my unit's colour], can you speak our language?" To which, little old me went, "No", which was the translated version of my first reply. Upon hindsight, I suppose it could mean something else.

I hate players on the losing team (be it the opposition or not) calling me names or spouting obscenities. I do understand the whole small penis, insecure male ego, anger thing, but it still annoys me to no end. Especially when they are really noobs. Grrr. I know I know, it's just a game, but I am guilty of the whole ego game as well.

***

I know I have not been updating regularly of late, but I have been playing too much Warcraft and feel no need to expostulate on the mundane events of my life. Sometimes it feels constricting as I seem to go ballistic on every minor inconveniences. The best example that I can use to convey my inadequacies is that advertisement on TV, with the guy spouting pseudo-Shakespearean lines in the rain, lamenting the breakdown of his car. Yes, and the fact that my spelling is more atrocious than usual and my grammar is all messed up. I was going to use the truncated obscenity there, which shows the HUGE influence gaming online has on me. As it is, "messed up" is a bad phrase that shows the decline of my once impressive vocabulary... was that my ego talking again?

Argh.

***

I hate growing out my hair. It sticks out, in the words of the Dove Shampoo Girl, "Like a duck's tail... all curly whirly." I don't mind curly whirly hair. It brings to mind long black lustrous locks that curl at the ends into loose ringlets. Much like the hair of my old English teacher. It has the bouyancy of babyhood, as the only other people I have seen with such hair are little people (toddlers). But my hair isn't curly whirly, it's a duck's tail. They aren't the same. I was going to add something pithy after this little description, but I lost it.

***

It is extremely easy to forget the tenet of "Thou Shalt Not Kill" or "Do not take a life needlessly", as religion teaches, when faced with the Wrath of the Dad. I do not usually murder anything, the sole exception being really poisonous creatures like Black Widow Spiders (because they might cause a fatality) and mosquitoes (Dengue Fever). Between mass extermination of an entire colony of ants or the flaring of the nostrils by the head honcho at one's inactivity while he is attempting to evict the poor fellows, guess which I chose? I'm allergic to insectide so it was the good old environmentally friendly slipper. My arms ache from applying so much force. Leaf cutter ants have too tough a carapace.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter