Psychic Vampires
Mar. 14, 2003 ] 12:23 AM
Some men are psychic vampires. They drain you of your vitality. Sap away your strength until you lie barren like a broken reed stem drying in the sun. It is not Cosmopolitan babble jargon, but an actual term coined in literary theory. Although I am at a loss to tell you which literary school of thought it originates from. But it happens in real life and not just the penny dreadfuls in Victorian times. I think the Beau is one of them.

I see his ex-girlfriend as another one of those discarded reeds. Cast aside. And I fear I am losing my soul as she did. Fear intermingled with loneliness. Is that not a pathetic excuse to be in a relationship?

Sometimes.

I still feel like a shadow of my former self. A wisp of a thing. Floating in a haze of apathy simply because I can't feel anymore. I don't even bother trying to assert my own thoughts anymore on anything simply because it takes far too much energy and time to argue with him, or even to gently point out an alternative. He isn't receptive. I am too stubborn to not try and make someone else see another facet to the situation/argument/random topic of interest. But nowadays, I cannot summon the energy to bother. It is a futile effort.

However, my practical side asserts itself sometimes and points out that my depression occurs at regular cycles which somehow coincide with the menstrual cycle. I wonder, ten years down the road, I would read all these angsty entries and laugh or (more likely) cringe in embarassment at how wonderfully immature I was in my early twenties.

Perhaps.

A note of interest. His brother is breaking up with the girl he went out for the last two months on the grounds of flirtatiousness. I wonder. I know I am capable of extreme flirtatiousness if I wish to. Sometimes I wonder. These things run in the family. A certain conservativeness. A certain reserve. A certain line of thought.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter