Letting the dog slip its leash
Mar. 19, 2003 ] 10:29 PM
I bought Orlando by Virginia Woolf today. It was a rather impulsive buy. I just saw the new Vintage jacket for the reissue of her novel, remembered the confusing but startling movie made from the novel, several odd scenes flashed through my mind, the singing angel being one of them, and decided to buy it. Nothing much to it.

But it sparked a shopping spree. I bought a total of five books today, Orlando being one of them. The others were A Lesson Before Dying, two Heyers and a biograpy of Marie Antoinette by Antonia Fraser. I have been reading up a lot on Marie Antoinette these days, as well as Anne Boleyn. I still cannot find Robin Maxwell's Secret Diary of Anne Boelyn despite haunting every bookstore in the metropolitan area. It will be a happy day when I do get it. But I bet the book will be a raving disappointment once I read it. Anticipation flavours the book far beyond its worth most of the time. But I am rambling and my metaphors are melting together.

I wrote a better entry in my head again, having been all fuzzy and warm in my cosy little bed and just letting the mind roam free like a dog that needs to be let out after being cooped up in the house far too long. I still feel like that sometimes. My mind cannot write. My English is stilted and funny. Childish, childlike and far too charmingly Singaporean. I find myself adopting the soft slurs and slang of the Beau's speech because I spend far too much of my time with him. I slip between the cracks of my proper bookish British Council trained accent and my far more localised accent until I feel like a phony.

It is funny because when I argue with the Beau, in the heat of passion and fiery righteousness I descend into the modulated tones of proper English, stumbling as usual over certain pronounciations (because I speak the word as I see it if it is beyond my spoken vocabulary), rather than the Singaporean accent I have with the baby voice I use in happier times.

I asked the Beau the other day if he recalled the last time I really laughed in his presence. And like me, he cast his mind out as a lure and came up with no answer. I can't remember the last time I laughed. Truly laughed. Except once. But that was because I was happily anticipating food at a restaurant. Sitting down with a beatific smile, and a beaming radiance, Mage pointed out that I was happy.

That was four days ago.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter