Miss Singapore, Pink Bubbles & Triple Lines
Apr. 03, 2004 ] 12:38 AM
Let's assume that my dad isn't too adverse to a daughter in a swimsuit on national television, that I am slightly underweight but retain my curves and about 15 cm taller. Would I do well as a contestant in the Miss Singapore Universe pageant?

I don't think so, considering my unfortunate tendency to lapse either into a stony faced silence or a fit of giggling when I become a cynosure. Not to mention my hotch potch accent, (a pet peeve of critics of the local contest), which I swear is becoming more uniform by the day. That is, if picking up my sister's irregular grammar and strange phrases count.

(I know what she will say to this entry. "San diao xian" [three lines]. I believe the phrase alludes to the common image of manga characters with lines drawn on their faces, or a large tear drop suspended above their heads when they need to express incredibility or incredulity about something. Like a Japanese "duh".)

But it is always entertaining to think up amusing what-if scenarios in your head on dull bus-rides, when you run out of pages in a book, or standing in an extremely crowded bus.

And giggling is always associated with pink iridescent bubbles in my head. That is, I think of me lapsing into a fit of giggling, and I automatically paint in a spray of predominantly pink iridescent bubbles floating around my head. Sort of like in a neoprint.

In retrospect, it is quite shocking to realise just how superficial my thoughts can be. Although, I'm no philosopher, so I should clamp down on my inner critic.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter