Dropt from the Zenith like a falling Star
May. 04, 2004 ] 1:04 PM
She watched, wreathed in shadows, as he stood outside her door, a supplicant at her thresh-hold. Nestled in his loving palms, like a long dead sea creature from the murky depths, was a dark, desiccated strip of flesh.

"I saved a sliver of your heart, when they took it from you," he said. "And I carried it off with me, hoping to restore it to you."

Dark and empty as the darkness that surrounded her, she watched his offering warily. Then, without a word, she gingerly picked it up. It vanished without a sound. She kept silent as his features fell and smoothed into a blank mask, devoid of any emotion.

Then he sighed, "I guess that's my answer," and he turned to walk away.

"Wait," she called after him. "Maybe you can come back tomorrow."

And then I woke up.

I hate abrupt awakenings. But I guess it fell at the right culmination of the story arc.

And I enjoyed the whole action sequence that took place prior to this scene. Especially the part where the comb becomes a forest, the mirror, a lake and the handkerchief, a field of flowers.

And its funny how dreams work. The entire dream sequence was a seamless blend of images and narration.

One day I will sit in a quiet corner and write the entire tale down. A story that has been told before and retold again. A reworking of an ancient vision. Dreams have a shamanistic quality about them. A fount of inspiration that draws its power from the liminal state of waking and sleeping.The English Patient was based on an image Michael Ondaatje had in a dream. A man, covered in flames, falling like Lucifer in Milton's Paradise Lost.

I hope I will be able to do it. But I wonder if my flair for purple prose will run away with me and I create a monstrosity of sheer awkwardness that do the tale little credit.

Although the whole idea is tempting. But it is probably an over-ambitious and conceited undertaking.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter