Tea and Coffee
Oct. 06, 2001 ] 3:52 p.m.
Well I just got back from one of the suburbs.

Yes yes I know I was supposed to study... and used the excuse of getting coffee to procrasinate.

In any case, mission succesful! My informant was wrong... or it could be a case of heavy accents. He's Taiwanese and his accent is a bit strong. I got the second part of the shop name wrong. Heh. In any case I get French Vanilla coffee with good old full cream milk as my faithful companion while I burn the midnight oil:D

Oh and I got sucked into the tea shop I spotted days ago.

It is run by a friendly old man who has stayed in Singapore for ages. His wife is from Singapore as well and his kids are going home around the same time as me. Wow.

In any case, I went bonkers and bought way too much tea considering the meagre amount I have left in my bank account. In any case if I keep this up I am dead. I need at least 300 dollars in the bank for the summer break. ARGH.

In case you are curious, the inventory of the tea I bought reads as: Maple Tea, Elderberry Tea and Monk's Tea (Vanilla & Grenadine).

Hmmm. I had a taste of Elderberry Tea in the store. I told you, he is a nice man!:P Or a really great saleperson. The tea was gave off a really sweet fragrance but it tasted like ordinary black ceylon tea. Good quality black ceylon tea though. I think the tea might be better iced or with milk. I think milk brings out the flavour of the tea more. It's a personal preference as most advocates of tasting tea recommend plain old tea only or at most some sugar, not milk, especially where herbal tea is concerned. However, I still prefer herbal tea with milk:)

The only grouse I had is that the tea is flavoured. It doesn't have the real fruit in there. Oh well. :P

Still the store was a godsent! I sampled tealeaf fragrance until my nose protested! SIGH. I'm a tea fanatic in a tea shop!:)

I walked back to college from the suburb. Bleah. I hate the sun and I walked back in the sun? I was terrified I would start roasting. You know, with UV rays one can't be too careful. As it is, my fair complexion will get ruined. (I have fair colouring which burns red before turning brown.)

Still I had fun. It was refreshing to say the least. There were quaint shops I would have never got to see if I had taken the bus.

I saw a teacup and saucer (68 dollars) dating from the 1900s in the window of one shop. Gorgeous. It was a pure white with gold rims and a sky blue floral border. I can't descrive it any further cos I am no antiquities expert or even an amateur. My personal criticism would go as far as "pretty".:)

I didn't go in though... it looked pretty exclusive.

SIGH.

In any case, my feet are badly blistered. Thongs are just not meant for walking long distances. Bleah. Painful little scabs. Still I think I enjoyed the walk. I kept wishing for one of those cameras Tanzy had, to capture the beauty of the things I saw.

That yellow daisy. That birdcage trellis. The white tudor roses that sprawl leisurely across a red fence. That tree that is now blossoming into millions of white star shaped blooms. Or maybe the pink cherry blossoms. Lovely.

Well I have a daisy pressed in my journal now. However, I am regretting not committing an act of vandalism by stealing those purple pink pansies I saw. I have never seen such vibrant colours.

Oh well. *shrugs*

Maybe I will do that another day. Time to actually get down to the grind and do my essay. Wish me luck.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter