Candle burning bright
Feb. 06, 2002 ] 2:06 AM
This night, I decided to relax, so I unpacked the scented candles I bought in Australia. I arranged them in tiny glazed-ware holders and lit them and turned off the lights. Then I hit the play button on my boom-box and sat on the floor watching the shadows grow and elongate; to rise to the ceiling and loom over me. Absolutely stunning choreography to Enya. Shadows are perfect overgrown mimics and they seem to have a life of their own as they move in perfect grace.

In this little bubble, I realised that I have developed a taste for peppermint scents. Every candle was pale green and scented with a peppermint bouquet. This came as a surprise, because I'm usually the floral and powder type of female. Most of my favourite scents are lush, sensual, powdery scents luxuriant with femininity. Roses, lilies, maybe a hint of orange, lavender, and of course, powder.

And peppermint, is a lively, fresh, sharp scent. Reminiscence of vibrance and vivacity; certainly not the languid and graceful feminine scents I favoured over the years.

And candles smell different from aroma-pots. There's something more subtle about the scents when synthesized with beeswax and heat. Above the flame you get a sensation of heat and a faint whiff of clean carbon. Move beyond a certain radius, and the scent lingers around you.

And peppermint invigorates you. Peppermint is different from all those other fragrances I love. If those heavier, sensual scents are veils of mystery, peppermint is the clean taste in your mouth after the scent floats about you like chiffon.

Truly divine.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter