Fluffy bathroom slippers save the day!
Feb. 07, 2002 ] 3:26 PM
This is the third day in my stint as an unwilling volunteer in the Spring Cleaning Corps. Being press-ganged into service and listening to the Commanding Officer justifying the need to press-gang unwilling recruits into service purely because the Supreme Commander gets really grumpy and bad tempered when asked to clean windows is justifiable. Yes it is, if you ever get near ten feet of my dad when�s he�s in a black mood. He sulks and gets really cranky. As for the brat, she�s just plain lazy. Or maybe she is so pampered that she will use the wrong end of the mop to clean the floor. A slight exaggeration, but not if you have seen her in active duty, say washing dishes.

Hah. As for me, I hate getting my feet wet. I don�t mind scrubbing kitchen counters, stacking cans, using the vacuum cleaner to zap all those dust balls, anything that keeps my feet dry. I don�t mind getting my hands wet and slimy but I detest wet feet, except when I am in the shower. I have racked my brains to discover some childhood trauma to explain such a phenomenon, but I finally gave up. Maybe I was just born with such an aversion.

Finally, I dug out an old pair of bathroom slippers. My mom actually shrieked in laughter at the sight of me decked out in an old greying T-shirt and blue shorts, yellow gloves and white fluffy slippers carrying a red mop and an orange pail. Geez�

But I got the floor cleaned in half the time that it usually takes me to do it. That is because on those days I walked with my feet bent at an unnatural angle, on the edges of my feet, with the soles of my feet facing each other. Mom had no reason to complain or poke fun at my soft, pampered ways. I have an aversion to wet feet!

Well, as for pork floss, it has the appearance and texture of cotton candy. It comes in colours like deep brown, rust-brown, golden brown and tan. The closest equivalent to the taste that I can think of is sweet dried beef jerky shredded very finely. The colours come from the way the pork floss is cooked and the flavouring that is added to it. The type I bought is the golden brown pork floss.

My mom bought it to add some variety and flavour to the plain rice porridge I ate when I was a toddler. Because it was sweet and looked like candy, it was supposedly more enticing to the young na�ve brats who refused to eat their nice plain healthy fish porridge!

It is a cultural based food, much like marmite that BF relishes, and I go "eeps" at. We call marmite "Bovril" and add it to rice porridge as well. Porridge over in Singapore means rice cooked with a larger amount of water to create a dish that has the texture of porridge. We add meat or fish to add some flavour to the dish. Or we might make plain porridge and serve it up with other dishes. I hope this explanation is sufficient.:)

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter