To Count One's Blessings
Aug. 2003 ] 7:33 PM
It is difficult sharing a house and one shower with three male housemates. Olfactorily speaking that is. It is the stench of men. Men, by virtue of their biological make-up have stronger body odours and less sensitive noses than women. So if women have a problem with the scent of their men, those men will usually sniff themselves and decide that their women have a paranoia problem. But it is not the stench of body odour I am whinging about.

I am not as nasty as to describe the stench with Grenouille's contempt of the human scent, "a sweaty-oily, sour-cheesy, and richly repulsive odour", but more like Druot's scent, the journeyman in the novel Perfume, "exuding a cloud of spermy odour". I am not being clumsy and crass in an attempt at humour. I am dead serious. Three men and one bathroom. Semen has a very distinctive odour.

Which is why the BF had taken to flushing down the evidence of his encounters with Sally Yoshino and Mao Misaki in the toilet after finding out about my keen sense of smell. Lately he has gotten lazy. But that's okay. It is kind of cute when his ears turn red after I tease him about visiting his "mistresses".

But back to three healthy virile males in their twenties. As bathroom cleaning duties fall to me, it is an olfactory disaster when combined with my fussy and discerning nose. I never know when to congratulate myself on the sensitivity of my nose, or curse it for the embarassing connotations that appear in my head. To see an otherwise platonic and not particularly close male friend and know what he does in the shower is just not my cup of tea. I find it highly embarassing and a wee bit offensive.

Thank goodness the thoughts extend only to "Oh I guess he decided on some recreational activity in the shower," rather than visualise him on active duty. I think I better stop writing this, as I am beginning to stir the visual parts of my brain.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter