The chicken or the egg?
Apr. 16, 2004 ] 1:36 AM
Singaporean bashing by China students. It's the chicken or egg scenario. Which came first?

I wouldn't like to be insulted by a guest of my country, although God knows everyone who has been an international student grumbles about the occasional nasty local in their host country.

Although I can empathise with the China nationals that have experienced hostility because of their nationality. I have been in the unique position of being taken as a PRC and subsequently receiving rude and nasty treatment at the hands of my fellow citizens.

Take for example, the time I was at the front desk of the clinic where I have a quarterly check-up. Handing over my identification card and my appointment card; both items were returned to me without being checked and I was asked to produce my work-permit instead. And I was rudely told that I wouldn't be able to see the doctor if I forgot my work-permit.

The explanation produced by the nurse for this action, when confronted with an irate mother hovering around her slightly bewildered daughter, was that I looked like a "China girl" and that they always asked for a work permit in "such cases". And that she thought the I.C. belonged to my mother. Huh?

I'm just wondering about the function of the Identification Card, if it cannot identify me as a Singaporean citizen. And I am being sarcastic here: I am ethnic Chinese, and so was the nurse. Do we have a uniquely Singapore Chinese Girl?

But most tellingly, was the change in demeanour and attitude when the nurse realised her mistake. Gone was the slightly derisive and curt tone used to a "PRC". Out popped the smiling, apologetic, placating tone, and the slightly oily, prententious, supposedly snide fellow-conspirator attitude: wink, wink, nudge, nudge. You know how such mistakes can occur. I was embarassed and angered and not because of the mistake in identity.

***

But having never met a PRC or observed one up close and personal I can't comment much on the various irritating habits they possess that raise the hackles of my fellow countrymen. I must however admit that the things I hear do seem to be extremely unpleasant, and said complaints are far too numerous to discount lightly.

Where there's smoke, there's fire they say. Even if it is from a single lit match. Stereotypes are formed from somewhere, and it's a part of the unfairness of the world that stereotypes tend to be ugly ones.

I believe another part of the problem with Singaporeans being so hostile to foreign nationals, especially PRCs, stems from the insensitivity of the Establishment in trying to ease/lure/entice foreigners into the melting pot. One notable phrase, "foreign talent" as opposed to, I presume, "local idiots"?

***

Oh well. I'm not too disturbed about the whole incident simply because I don't care. I prefer to concentrate on the microcosm of me-dom than the world at large.

I'm bored in other words.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter