Brain dead.
Apr. 28, 2004 ] 12:46 AM
Despite getting a job, I'm still losing brain cells. It isn't a stressful job. What it requires me to do is pore over emailed complaints, investigate and verify said complaint and then reply using a standard message. The job may seem quite monotonous to some, but I seem to survive or even thrive in such an environment. Give me order, guidelines and leave me to work independently and I will be no cause of worry, except to myself. Additionally, it helps that I have the ability to speed read.

But I feel restless. The job does not require me to think, and I worry about my brain cells dying from the lack of activity all the time. The job consists of scrolling down the page, reading, clicking on appropriate link, scrolling down again and pressing send. There may be some variations to the routine, but that's the usual work-pattern.

On the plus side, I like the people and the relaxed environment.

But I need a proper job soon. A proper job that requires me to think. But I suspect a whole other set of problems coming up with said proper job. Like stressful deadlines. But with better monetary perks and permanency.

Oh, and in spite of the lack of stress, the job is really exhausting. I'm brain dead, and not because of slow attrition due to inactivity of the thought processes.

wax ] wane
Site 

Meter